Since When is Fear a Gift?

April 2, 2009 at 1:51 pm 1 comment

Book Review:  The Gift of Fear

By Nick Nigro, Career Services Director at Davis College, Toledo, Ohio

Our new babysitter makes me feel uneasy. That stranger in a deserted parking lot offers me unsolicited help. I am driving in an area where I don’t feel safe; yet, I keep going. I give my credit card information easily over the phone even though I am not comfortable with the person on the other end. A contract gets signed with a business professional even though I don’t know the person very well. These are situations that are very real to any on of us. The feeling of threat and fear is all around us. We can protect ourselves if we simply trust our gut instincts, our intuition.

 In The Gift of Fear, Gavin de Becker shows us how to spot even the most subtle signs of danger – before it is too late. Often times, we think that most violent acts or dangers are unpredictable. If I were to interview you after you’ve encountered a situation gone bad; I believe you would admit that you had a bad feeling and you just didn’t listen to it.

 This ground-breaking book opened my eyes to the realities that with every person and in every circumstance I take in messages that translate into feelings that translate into daily actions and modes of operation. Our intuition takes it all in and communicates it back to us constantly. Gavin de Becker says that the only time our intuition lies to us is when we don’t listen to it. 

 While reading this book you will learn specific ways to protect yourself and those you love, including…how you act when approached by a stranger…when you ought to fear someone close to you…what to do if you are being stalked…how to uncover the source of anonymous threats and phone calls…the biggest mistake you can make with a threatening person…and so much more. It is like reading a thriller. Once I started listening to it on CD I couldn’t stop.

 In a day and age when we live with suspicious feelings and violence all around us, this book offers some timely insight. I highly recommend it to you as business professionals, as people constantly meeting people who want to develop relationships with us. The quality of your day-to-day life will be greatly improved after you read and apply what you’ve read in this book.

 We know how important first and lasting impressions are to our success both personally and professionally. This author changed my understanding and my way of thinking. You owe it to yourself to train yourself to trust your intuition and to learn how to do it effectively. I will guarantee that it will make a huge difference. Befriend your fear. Let it be a gift to help you. I’d lend you my book; however, I really want you to own your own.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews. Tags: , , .

Facebook Changes Home Page…Discovering the Glitches 1st Social Media Breakfast Toledo great success!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sandy Pirwitz  |  April 2, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I always enjoy Nick’s book reviews. I’ve read several of the books after reading his reviews.

    Nick and I are friends and we must have more in common than meets the eye.

    Thanks, Nick, and thanks, Julie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


